HarvestPlus improves nutrition and public health in India by promoting pearl millet that provides more iron and wheat that provides more zinc in the diet. We work with more than 45 partners drawn from government, business, and civil society.

HarvestPlus supports the National Agricultural Research System in India to breed, test, and release biofortified pearl millet and wheat developed through our partnership with the International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics (ICRISAT) and the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT).

Iron pearl millet is one of the staple foods in arid and semi-arid regions of India, and wheat is the most important food grain of the country. Public and private seed companies play a critical role in commercializing seed for distribution to farmers. We support these companies with market research, nutrition studies, branding, and promotional strategies. Our partnerships also train farmers, retailers, and distributors on the benefits of biofortified pearl millet and wheat. 

Public awareness campaigns leverage the power of the media and national public health experts to highlight micronutrient deficiencies and promote adoption of nutritious crops. Our advocacy seeks to strengthen central and state-level ownership of biofortification through effective integration into nutrition and agricultural policies.

“Partnering with HarvestPlus gave us an opportunity to use our experience and distribution channels to serve our farmers by providing them with high-zinc wheat variety.”
— Sandeep Goel, Managing Director, Astha Beej Co. Pvt. Ltd

Country Contacts

Pearl Millet
Binu Cherian, HarvestPlus Country Manager,
c/o ICRISAT, Patancheru 502324,
Phone: +91 (40) 30713770


Parminder Virk, Crop Development Manager,
c/o ICRISAT, Patancheru 502324,
Phone: +91 4030713074




  • Aarti Flour Mill 
  • Ajeet Seeds Limited
  • Ankur Seeds
  • Astha Beej Pvt. Ltd.
  • Ashok Sansthan
  • All India Coordinated Pearl Millet Improvement Project (AICPMIP)
  • Banaras Hindu University
  • Bayer BioScience Pvt. Ltd.
  • Bidhan Chandra Agricultural University
  • Bioseed Research India Pvt. Ltd.
  • Birsa Agricultural University
  • Bombay Super Hybrid Seeds
  • CCS Haryana Agricultural University
  • Delhi School of Economics
  • Dhule College of Agriculture
  • Daftari Agro Biotech Pvt. Ltd.
  • Ganga Kaveri Seeds Pvt. Ltd.
  • G.B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology (GBPUAT)
  • Gramin Development Services (GDS)
  • Gramin Uthan Eyam Vaikalpik  Vikas Samiti
  • Hytech Seed India Pvt. Ltd.
  • Indian Institute of Rice Research (IIRR)
  • Indian Institute of Wheat and Barley Research (IIWBR)
  • India Biofortification Program
  • Indian Agricultural Research Institute
  • Indian Council on Agricultural Research
  • Indira Gandhi Krishi Vishwavidyalaya (IGKV) University
  • JK Agri Genetics Ltd.
  • J Nehru Medical College
  • Junagadh Agricultural University
  • Karnataka State Seeds Corporation Limited (KSSC)
  • Kaveri Seeds Co. Ltd.
  • Kesar Enterprises Ltd.
  • KISAN Forum Pvt. Ltd.
  • Mahatma Phule Krishi Vidyapeeth
  • Mahyco
  • Maharashtra State Seeds  Corporation Ltd. (MSSC)
  • Metahelix Lifesciences Pvt. Ltd.
  • Ministries of Agriculture, Health,  and Education
  • National Seed Association of India (NSAI)
  • National Institute of Nutrition (NIN)
  • Nath Biogene Pvt. Ltd
  • Nirmal Seeds Pvt. Ltd.
  • Nuziveedu Seeds Pvt. Ltd.
  • Nu Genes Private Limited
  • Orissa University of Agriculture and Technology (OUAT)
  • Pioneer Overseas Pvt. Ltd
  • Prof. Jayashankar Telangana State Agricultural University (PJTSAU)
  • Punjab Agricultural University
  • Rasi Seeds Sri Sai Seeds
  • Sri Karan Narendra Agriculture University
  • Shakti Vardhak Hybrid Seeds Pvt. Ltd.
  • Sayaji Seeds
  • Sustainable Human Development Association (SHDA)
  • Super Seeds Pvt. Ltd.
  • Sunagro Seeds Private Limited
  • SNDT Women’s University, Maharashtra
  • St. Johns Medical Research Center
  • Swami Keshwanand Rajasthan Agricultural University
  • Sood Seeds
  • Syngenta India
  • Tamil Nadu Agricultural University (TNAU)
  • Tempest Advertising Pvt. Ltd.
  • The Coalition for Food and Nutrition Security (CFNS)
  • Vasantrao Naik Marathwda Krishi Vidyapeeth Parbhani (VNMKV)
  • Wheat Berry Agro Tech (WBAT)


Stay up to date with us
Stay Up to Date